Abeokuta North/Odeda/Obafemi Owode federal constituency is large and diverse, comprising of three local governments and 38 wards.

The local governments:


Abeokuta North Local Government first came into existence in 1981 before its reemergence on the 27th of September 1991, as part of the drive of the then Federal Government to move closer to the people and prioritize development at the grassroots level.

Its headquarters is situated in Akomoje, Iberekodo area of Abeokuta and geographically, it shares boundaries with Odeda Local Government (to the North); Ewekoro Local Government (to the South); Abeokuta South Local Government (to the East); and Yewa North Local Government (to the West).

According to the 2006 census, Abeokuta North has a population of over 200,000 people, most of whom speak Yoruba Language with the infusion of their various dialects.

The predominant occupation in the LG is Agriculture. Food and cash crops such as cassava, cocoyam, cocoa and palm produce are favored by farmers. A rising population of artisans has also been recorded, with some seeking careers in pottery and adire [tie and dye].

The LGA comprises 16 wards, namely: Ikereku, Ikija, Ago Oko, Elega, Iberekodo/ IIugun, Gbagura, Ika, Lafenwa, Sabo, Oke Ago Owu, Totoro/Sokori, Ita Oshin/ Olomore, Olorunda Ijale, Imala/ Idi- Emi, Isaga Ilewo and Ibara Orile/Onisasa.


Obafemi Owode Local Government was created through Edict No.9 of 1976 in the Local Government reforms carried out by the then military government, to spread government programmes to the grassroots and institutionalize the local government system in Nigeria.

Its headquarters is at Owode Egba and geographically, it shares boundaries with Odeda Local Government, Sagamu and Ikenne Local Government, and Ifo Local Government to the North, East and South respectively. It also shares boundaries with Lagos and Oyo states.

Obafemi Owode has a population of over 200,000 people, most of whom reside in Adigbe, Oba Kobape, Obafemi, Ogunmakin, Ajebo, Owode and Ibafo towns, amongst others.

Generally regarded as the ‘Land of Ofada rice’, the economy of the LGA is powered by agriculture with farmers favoring rice, kolanut, sugarcane, maize, cassava, tomatoes and a wide variety of vegetables. It also has a growing tourism industry as tourists from different parts of the globe are attracted to its wildlife forest, grassless mountains and the Youth centre at Ofada town.

Obafemi Owode suffers especially from poor infrastructure as basic amenities such as roads, pipe borne water and power are lacking in many communities. The water challenge is especially pronounced, as farming is the primary occupation here.

It is politically divided into 12 wards, namely: Mokoloki, Ofada, Owode, Ajura, Moloko-Asipa, Onidundu, Oba, Egbeda, Kajola, Obafemi, Ajebo and Alapako-Oni.


Odeda Local Government was created out of the Egba Division Council in October 1955 by the Western Nigeria government under the leadership of late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

It has its headquarters in Odeda town and shares boundaries with Ibarapa and Iddo Local Government of Oyo State in the north and east, and Abeokuta North and Obafemi/ Owode Local Government to the south and west.

Odeda LGA has a population of over 100,000 people. The predominant occupation is small scale agriculture and the availability of grassland also attracts herders.

In addition, there is a sizeable population of students and formal labour as the LGA plays host to University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, the Federal College of Education, Osiele, the Ogun Osun River Basing Development Authority and the State Headquarters of the Nigerian Police (Eleweran).

It is administratively and politically divided into three zones (Odeda Zone, Ilugun Zone and Opeji Zone) and 10 wards, namely: Odeda, Balogun-Itesi, Olodo, Alagbagba, Ilugun, Osiele, Obantoko, Alabata, Obete and Opeji.

Most communities in Odeda LGA are rural and challenges include poor infrastructure and lack of basic amenities.

Skip to toolbar